Node focus changes after saving

Home Forums cherrytree Node focus changes after saving

Tagged: 

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  andreafsky 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #125464

    andreafsky
    Member

    Hey, wondering if I have a setting out of place, but every time I save my Cherry Tree document; after saving the pad changes the node in focus and I have to re navigate to the node I’m working in.

    How do I change the behavior or control the behavior so that after saving it doesn’t change node?

    #125465

    eureka
    Member

    I don’t see that behaviour and I am on Ubuntu.
    Do you save as SQLite or XML?
    Can you try both modes?
    What settings do you have in Edit > Preferences > Miscellaneous?

    #125466

    andreafsky
    Member

    Good details to include, sorry for leaving those out:

    Platform: Windows 10; Build 17134 (Outside of my control)
    CherryTree Version: 0.38.9 [Updated today] (Portable)
    File type: SQLite, non protected .ctb file


    Edit > Preference > Miscellaneous Settings

    System Tray
    [Disabled] Enable System Tray Docking

    Saving
    [Enabled] Autosave Every [5] Minutes
    [Enabled] Autosave on Quit
    [Enabled] Create a backup Copy before Saving
    Number of Backups to keep [10]

    Miscellaneous
    [Enabled] Automatically Check for Newer Version
    [Enabled] Enable Word Count in Status Bar
    [Enabled] Reload Document From Last Session
    [Enabled] Reload After External Update to CT* File

    Language
    [default]

    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  andreafsky.
    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  andreafsky.
    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  andreafsky.
    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  andreafsky.
    #125471

    eureka
    Member

    My only observation is that comparing my preferences I do not have these two enabled as you have.

    [Enabled] Enable Word Count in Status Bar
    [Enabled] Reload Document From Last Session

    Try disabling these.

    I am still on 0.38.7. And I save as XML.

    • This reply was modified 1 month ago by  eureka.
    #125473

    andreafsky
    Member

    Hmmm. It still resets to a different node. It’s as if it doesn’t remember where it is currently at.

    #125475

    eureka
    Member

    Correction. I do see the same behaviour. Sorry for the false lead.

    If I close CherryTree and reopen it opens at the top node and not the last open node.
    I do not see any history preference and so the only workaround I can think of in theory is to use a python script which closes down CherryTree and reopens at previous open node. The script would stamp some string on the open page before CherryTree is shut down and then search for that node when CherryTree opens again. Recently I came across Albert as a general purpose launcher and I can see how a python extension might be added. This extension would also save the hassle I have to go through using update-alternatives (in Ubuntu) switching to python2 before launching CherryTree and then back to python3.

    #125476

    eureka
    Member

    In the script a bookmark might also be added to open node instead of node stamp.

    #125477

    andreafsky
    Member

    That seems a bit overkill for a user to implement and install.

    I’m not experiencing this by opening and closing though. I get it from saving.

    #125479

    Sisyfos
    Member

    Hi;
    I can’t reproduce the behaviour your systems have, not on Win7 or Linux Mint 17.3.
    Under Edit/Preferences/Miscellaneous, do you have “Reload document from last session” and “Reload after external update to CT* file” checked??

    /Sisyfos

    #125480

    andreafsky
    Member

    Ah-ha!

    Sisyfos, I originally did have both those enabled; then I disabled the Reload Document After receiving initial comments from eureka I disabled one of them.

    But you inspired me to try the inverse settings:

    [Enabled] Reload Document from Last Session
    and
    [Disabled] Reload after External Updates to CT* File

    I no longer see the behavior.

    Not sure if that’s the intended behavior of those two settings ticked like that. I suspect it’s because my file is on a network drive, and I probably originally set the Reload External Updates because when I first started using CherryTree I was using it both on my local pc and a remote pc that has access to the same network. At that time I needed to know I was working on the latest version of that file. But I’ve since changed to using CherryTree exclusively on one side of the above equation, which makes this setting no longer necessary in my case, but seems like it could be a bug? Hopefully given the environmental details I just provided, you guys can investigate if it is reproducible along with whether that is the intended behavior.

    • This reply was modified 4 weeks ago by  andreafsky.
    • This reply was modified 4 weeks ago by  andreafsky.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.